Otto

Hi.
I’m Otto. All the paperwork Maxx and Me has from my former life says “Lhasa Apso” and based on my appearance, the fact that my hair grows WAY too fast for my comfort with grooming, we’ll go with that. I am about 8 years old and weigh 20lbs.
A few weeks ago, my life changed BIG time after 8 years…
I joined this home they call “foster” and whew wee did things get different…
I immediately felt better cause my skin wasn’t pulled by mattes and knots. Also, every dang day they cleaned my goopy eyes. Which I thought I hated…. But I realized I was grateful to not have the yucky gunky obstructions to see around so… I allowed it.
They sorta left me alone while I was broody. I mean, I’m not one to love right away so, I let them know I wasn’t interested in being friends. But then.. they kept being nice… And grooming me… and they did my favorite thing in the whole world – WALKIES – every dang day! So, I started snugggling. But not like letting them hold me. That’s for sissies. I just laid beside them smushed up close to let them know they were a-ok and they were cool letting that be enough. I loved them even more for that…
While I’ve been with them, we have been to the vet a few times, not my fave. But in so doing, my Foster Ma was able to determine what meds make my eyes feel best and for that, I am super glad. Turns out the really bad things that could be wrong- aren’t. Boom! I don’t have glaucoma – that’s for super old dogs. I don’t have dry eye – I just need a little ointment a couple times a day to lubricate my ridiculously endearing bulgy eyes and that’s that. I allow it. It makes me feel better.
After a big “foster family discussion” it was determined I am ready to begin interviewing potential forever home candidates.
Non-negotiable things I NEED:
1. A human dad
2.a calm home (no kids, no crazy dogs, would perhaps co-exist with a middle aged pup such as myself, but I prefer to be an only), 3. WALKS- multiple, and not just a let outside, actual excercise walks
4. Stay at home parent(s). I have been left and do not enjoy that for long periods. At all. I also am not a commuter dog, I don’t appreciate cars, so no long trips or daily drives to get coffee. I’ll wait at home please and thank you so much.
5. Grooming- brushing daily and monthly hair appointments, this is what us fluffy guys need to keep the knots away!
6. No stairs or pools on account of my depth perception, we don’t need any accidents!

7. Medical needs: joint supplements daily, Eyes cleaned and  medication applied to eyes 2 to 3 times a day for life to prevent chronic irritation and infections.

8. Eye exams with vet every 6 months. Cataract in left eye due to injury not age does effects some vision don’t worry this doesn’t affect seeing food, squirrels or birds on walks mostly depths and shadows when it’s dark. Supplements and eye care is approximately $40 per month in addition to regular medical care and veterinary visits.
My name is Otto. I want what I want and I need what I need. I will make a very fine pet for the perfect home, if that’s you please apply @maxxandme.org

Otto’s fully vetted, microchipped, neutered and adoption donation is $300

Maxx & Me is an all volunteer, all foster home rescue and do not have a shelter. Please allow at least 48 hours for applications to be processed (missing information may slow the process, so please take your time and be thoughtful in your answers). We place dogs based on best home for each dog and not order of applications received. Email us at maxxandmerescue@gmail.com for updates and questions. Thank you for choosing rescue.

Maxx & Me Pet Rescue
maxxandmerescue@gmail.com
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.